Login Join | Donate | Annual Meeting | Career Center | SAA News | Marketplace | Contact   Search
 SAA Book Award Minimize

— Book Award —

Current Committee Charge: The committee solicits nominations and selects recipients for the Book Award. The SAA awards two prizes to honor recently published books. One prize is for a book that has had, or is expected to have, a major impact on the direction and character of archaeological research. The other prize is for a book that is written for the general public and presents the results of archaeological research to a broader audience.

Committee Composition: Committee composition is one chair and at least four members.

Term Length: Term length is three years. Individuals ending their terms cycle off the committee at the close of the Business Meeting held during the annual SAA Meeting, and new appointees begin their terms at this time.

Award Cycle: Not applicable.

Committee Chair and End of Term: Elizabeth Arkush [2017]

*Committee Chair Contact Information: Elizabeth Arkush, University of Pittsburgh, Department of Anthropology, 3302 WWPH, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA, 15260, Tel: 434-989-5730, Email: arkush@pitt.edu

Committee Members and Ends of Terms: John H. Blitz [2017], Paul Fish [2015], Lynn H. Gamble [2017], Nan Gonlin [2015]

Committee on Awards Chair: Heather A. Lapham [2015]

Board Liaison to Award Committees: Suzanne K. Fish [2015]

*Award Description: The Society for American Archaeology annually awards two prizes to honor recently published books. One prize is for a book that has had, or is expected to have, a major impact on the direction and character of archaeological research. The other prize is for a book that is written for the general public and presents the results of archaeological research to a broader audience. The Book Award committee solicits your nominations for these prizes, which will be awarded at the 2015 Annual Meeting of the SAA. Books published in 2012 or more recently are eligible.

*Who Is Eligible to Submit Nominations or Apply for the Award: The Book Award committee solicits nominations for these prizes from publishers. Books published in 2012 or more recently are eligible. In the Scholarly Book Award category, the first author must be a member of the SAA, and all authors receive the award. In the Popular Book Award category, all authors may be members or non-members of the SAA and all authors receive the award.

*Nomination/Submission Materials Required: One copy of the nominated book must be sent to each member of the committee. Please contact the chair of the committee, Elizabeth Arkush, for an updated list of the committee members.

*Nomination/Submission Deadline: December 2, 2014

Other Special Requirements: Nominators must arrange to have one copy of the nominated book sent to each member of the committee.

Selection or Evaluation Criteria: The following are among the criteria to be used for evaluating books for the SAA book awards: excellence in content, writing, organization, and presentation; excellence in research; originality, as representing a positive example for the discipline; clarity of argument; expected positive impact on archaeological research; clear and engaging writing style; presentation, especially visual.

Committee Deliberation Process (e.g. dates, venue): The Book Award Committee adheres to the following deadlines.

September 1: Nomination announcement sent to publishers.

December 1: Deadline for receiving books. Generally, we start receiving books in late September but the bulk seems to come in between late October and November. Each nominated book is read and evaluated by at least two committee members during the first round of evaluations.

December 22: Deadline for committee members to submit a short list of top three selections in each category. The three books in each category with the highest combined scores advance to the final round.

Mid-January: The top picks are reviewed in detail and the committee votes to select the winners.

January 27: Committee submits award winners to the SAA Board.

Nature of Award (e.g. monetary, medal, symposium): The awardee is recognized by the SAA through a plaque presented during the business meeting held at the Annual Meeting, a citation in The SAA Archaeological Record, and acknowledgment on the awards page of the SAA Website.


2014     Michael L. Galaty, Ols Lafe, Wayne E. Lee, and Zamir Tafilica • Light and Shadow: Isolation and Interaction in the
              Shala Valley of Northern Albania (Scholarly)
              Jerry D. Moore • The Prehistory of Home (Popular)

2013    Elizabeth Arkush • Hillforts of the Ancient Andes: Colla Warfare, Society and Landscape (Scholarly)
              Patrick Kirch • A Shark Going Inland is My Chief. The Island Civilization of Ancient Hawai’i (Popular)

2012     Matthew R. Des Lauriers • Island of Fogs: Archaeological and Ethnohistorical investigations of Isla Cedros, Baja
              California (Scholarly)
              Terry Hunt and Carl Lipo • Statues that Walked (Popular)

2011     Vernon James Knight, Jr. • Mound Excavations at Moundville: Architecture, Elites, and Social Order
              Steven R. Simms • Traces of Fremont: Society and Rock Art in Ancient Utah

2010     David W. Anthony • The Horse, the Wheel and Language
              Rebecca Yamin • Digging in the City of Brotherly Love

2009     Lothar von Falkenhausen • Chinese Society in the Age of Confucius (1000-250 BC): The Archaeological
              Jack Brink • Imagining Head-Smashed-In

2008     Tom D. Dillehay • Monuments, Empires and Resistance
              James W. Bradley • Before Albany

2007     Kristian Kristiansen & Thomas B. Larsson • Transformations
              Bradley T. Lepper • Ohio Archaeology: An Illustrated Chronicle Of Ohio's Ancient American Indian Cultures

2006     Peter Bellwood • First Farmers: The Origins of Agricultural Societies
              James E. Bruseth and Toni S. Turner • From a Watery Grave: The Discovery and Excavation of La Salle's
              Shipwreck, La Belle

2005     Kelley Hays-Gilpin • Ambiguous Images: Gender and Rock Art
              Susan Toby Evans • Ancient Mexico and Central America: Archaeology and Culture History

2004     Brian Fagan • Before California: An Archaeologist Looks at Our Earliest Inhabitant
              T.J. (Tony) Wilkinson • Archaeological Landscapes of the Near East

2003     Kathleen Deagan and José María Cruxent • Archaeology at La Isabela: America's First European Town and
              Columbus's Outpost Among the Tainos
              Thomas F. King, Randall S. Jacobson, Karen Ramey Burns, and Kenton Spading • Amelia Earhart's Shoes: Is
              the Mystery Solved?

2002     Lewis R. Binford • Constructing Frames of Reference: An Analytical Method for Archaeological Theory Building
              Using Ethnographic and Environmental Data Sets
              Ann-Marie Cantwell and Diana Dizerega Wall • Unearthing Gotham: The Archaeology of New York City

2001     William W. Fitzhugh and Elisabeth I. Ward • Vikings: The North Atlantic Saga

2000     Clive Gamble • The Paleolithic Societies of Europe

1999     Jon Muller • Mississippian Political Economy
              Mark Lehner • The Complete Pyramids

1998     Tom D. Dillehay • Monte Verde, A Pleistocene Settlement in Chile
              Stephen Plog • Ancient Peoples of the American Southwest

1997     Bruce D. Smith • The Emergence of Agriculture
              Carmel Schrire • Digging Through Darkness: Chronicles of an Archaeologist

1996     Mary C. Stiner • Honor Among Thieves: A Zooarchaeological Study of Neandertal Ecology