Login Join | Donate | Annual Meeting | Career Center | SAA News | Marketplace | Contact   Search
 Award For Excellence in Cultural Resource Management Minimize

— Award for Excellence in Cultural Resource Management —

Current Committee Charge:
The committee solicits nominations and selects recipients for the Award for Excellence in Cultural Resource Management, which recognizes an individual or a group for their lifetime contributions and special achievements in the categories of program administration/management, site preservation, and research in cultural resource management. The award is presented in special recognition of excellence by an archaeologist or group of archaeologists, working in a cultural resource management setting, whose innovative research, or repeated and enduring contributions, have contributed significantly to archaeology. The award cycles among three categories: program administration/management, site preservation, and research in cultural resource management.

Committee Composition:
Committee composition is chair and four members.

Term Length: Term length is three years.

Award Cycle:
The award cycles through three categories (program administration/management [2014], preservation [2015], and research [2016]... ).

Committee Chair and End of Term:
Joseph Schuldenrein [2017]

*Committee Chair Contact Information:
Joseph Schuldenrein, Geoarcheology Research Assoc., 92 Main Street, Suite 207, Yonkers, NY 10701-7070, Tel: 914-423-3861, Email: joseph.schuldenrein@gra-geoarch.com
Committee Members and Ends of Terms: Gary Shaffer [2015], Daniel Thompson [2015], Matthew Tomaso [2015], Carol Weed [2015]

Committee on Awards Chair:
Heather A. Lapham [2015]

Board Liaison to Award Committees
: Suzanne K. Fish [2015]

*Award Description:
This award will be presented to an individual or a group to recognize lifetime contributions and special achievements in the categories of program administration/management, site preservation, and research in cultural resource management. It is intended that at least one award will be made each year and the category will rotate annually. The 2015 Award for Excellence in Cultural Resource Management will be presented in the PRESERVATION category. Candidates may include individuals employed by federal, state, or local government agencies, museums, and similar institutions who have developed and or implemented public policy, regulations, and ordinances that further cultural resource site protection and historic preservation on a local or regional basis.

*Who Is Eligible to Submit Nominations or Apply for the Award: Any professional archaeologist may submit a nomination for this award. Awardees may be members or non-members of the SAA.

*Nomination/Submission Materials Required:
Nominators must submit a curriculum vita along with any relevant supporting documents. All nomination materials are to be submitted electronically.

*Nomination/Submission Deadline
: January 10, 2015

Other Special Requirements
: None

Selection or Evaluation Criteria:
Nominations will be evaluated based on lifetime contributions and special achievements, including contributions to the field of archaeology and cultural resource management.
Committee Deliberation Process (e.g. dates, venue): The committee meets electronically after the nomination deadline has passed.

Nature of Award (e.g. monetary, medal, symposium):
The awardee is recognized by the SAA through a plaque presented during the business meeting held at the Annual Meeting, a citation in The SAA Archaeological Record, and acknowledgment on the awards page of the SAA Website.


2014    Mark Michel

Mark Michel’s life’s work and accomplishments exemplify the contributions and special achievements that the SAA strives to recognize with the Award for Excellence in Cultural Resource Management. There are few individuals whose lives and careers have had such a broad and profound impact on archaeology at the national scale. Mark Michel’s efforts over the last 35 years in advocating for, and effecting, cultural heritage stewardship, conservation archaeology, policy and legislative implementation, and public outreach are unsurpassed and have forever changed the face of US archaeology. Under Michel’s pioneering leadership, The Archaeological Conservancy remains the only national nonprofit organization dedicated to the permanent protection and management –through site acquisition from private landowners–of America’s endangered archaeological sites. In creating a national system of archaeological preserves for future generations to study and enjoy, Michel has helped to ensure the survival of our irreplaceable cultural heritage –a lasting legacy for all.

2013    Henry Wallace

Henry D. Wallace has earned the SAA Award for Excellence in Cultural Resources Management for his exceptional and pivotal research on the Hohokam of southern Arizona. His 32 years of research from directing numerous survey and excavation projects has resulted in a regional perspective and refinement of temporal and dynamic changes in Hohokam settlement patterns over time. Some highlights of his research include building a chronology of rock art styles; ceramic research that has allowed the refinement of chronological intervals to a generational scale in the Hohokam region; and understanding how village formation and community structure change through time and across large regional scales. His research in CRM has enabled a broad and insightful view and understanding of the Hohokam world, their social organization, settlement structure, patterns of political leadership, and ritual influence, deriving from research that goes far beyond a simple view of the archaeological record.

2012    None

2011    Nelly Robles García

Nelly Robles García has earned the SAA’s award for Excellence in CRM for her long and unwavering history of service and contributions, both in publication and presentation, to the administration of cultural resources in Oaxaca and Mexico. Her development of a center in Oaxaca for the documentation of best practices in site management from around the world will benefit heritage managers for years to come. Over the past twenty-five years, she has provided exemplary leadership in planning for site management, and advocacy for dynamic management of cultural resources by state and national governments. Her leadership has provided direction and guidance for cultural resources management that will benefit both the resources and their managers long into the 21st century.

2010    William H. Doelle

2009    Michael Beckes

2008    John Walthall

2007    George Smith

2006    None

2005    Arizona Site Steward Program

2004    Linda Mayro

2003    John Milner Associates, The General Services Administration

2002    Laurence W. Spanne

2001    None

2000    Robert J. Jackson

1999    David G. Anderson

1998    David A. Frederickson

1997    James J. Miller

1996    William R. Hildebrandt

1995    Lawrence E. Aten, Calvin R. Cummings, Shereen Lerner, Charles R. McGimsey III

1994    Hester A. Davis