Login Join | Annual Meeting | Jobs | SAANews | Marketplace | Contact   Search


 Douglas C. Kellogg Fellowship for Geoarchaeological Research Minimize

Douglas C. Kellogg Fund for Geoarchaeological Research

Current Committee Charge: The committee solicits proposals and selects recipients for the Douglas C. Kellogg Fund for Geoarchaeological Research Award. The award is presented in support of dissertation research with emphasis on the field and/or laboratory parts of this research for graduate students at the Doctoral level in the earth sciences and archaeology.

Committee Composition: Committee composition is one chair and four members (This committee also solicits proposals and selects recipients for the Geoarchaeology Interest Group M.A./M.S. Research Award).

Term Length: Term length is three years.

Award Cycle: Not applicable.

Committee Chair and End of Term: Sarah Sherwood [2014]

Committee Chair Contact Information: Sarah C. Sherwood, Environmental Studies, 735 University Ave, University of the South, Sewanee, TN 37383, tel: 931-598-3396, e-mail: sherwood@sewanee.edu

Committee Members and Ends of Terms:  Vickie Clay [2015], Metin I. Eren [2014], Thomas Fenn [2015], Bruce Huckell [2014]

Board Liaison: Suzanne K. Fish

Award Description: The Douglas C. Kellogg Award provides support for dissertation research, with emphasis on the field and/or laboratory aspects of this research, for graduate students in the earth sciences and archaeology. Under the auspices of the SAA's Geoarchaeology Interest Group, family, friends, and close associates of Douglas C. Kellogg formed a memorial in his honor.

Who Is Eligible to Submit Nominations or Apply for the Award: Recipients of the Kellogg Award will be students who are (1) actively pursuing the Ph.D. degree in earth sciences or archaeology; (2) applying earth science methods to archaeological research and (3) seeking to engage in a career in geoarchaeology.

Nomination/Submission Materials Required: The application should consist of a research proposal no more than three pages long that describes the research and its potential contributions to American archaeology, a curriculum vita, and two letters of support, including one from the chair that certifies that the student is conducting the proposed research along with the expected date of completion of the degree. Electronic submissions as pdfs sent to the committee chair are preferred. File names must include the applicants surname or last name and the award (Douglas C. Kellogg Fund for Geoarchaeological Research) must be clearly indicated in the proposal.

Nomination/Submission Deadline: November 29, 2013

Other Special Requirements: None

Selection or Evaluation Criteria: The committee reads the proposals and selects the best one based on relative merit. Important questions for evaluation include the following: Does the proposal seek to do interesting and novel research? Are the methods and theory sound and applicable? Is it well written and coherent? Can what the proposal seeks to do be accomplished in the stated time?

Committee Deliberation Process (e.g. dates, venue): After each committee member reads and evaluates each application, the committee meets and votes electronically. A simple majority is sufficient; if there is a deadlock the chair provides the tie-breaking vote.

Nature of Award (e.g. monetary, medal, symposium): The awardee receives $500. As the fund grows, the award amount may increase as the annual interest increases. In addition, the awardee is recognized by the SAA through a plaque presented during the business meeting held at the Annual Meeting, a citation in The SAA Archaeological Record, and acknowledgment on the awards page of the SAA Website.


2013    Craig Fertelmes

2012    Joe D. Wilson, Jr.

2011    Teresa Wriston

2010    None

2009    Benjamin Vining

2008    Kurt Rademaker

2007    Katherine A. Adelsberger

2006    Heidi Luchsinger

2005    Ian Buvit

2004    None

2003    Aleksander Borejsza