Society for American Archaeology Announces 2019 Award Recipients

Mar 04, 2019

The Society for American Archaeology (SAA) is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2019 awards, which will be bestowed on April 12, 2019, at the SAA 84th Annual Meeting in Albuquerque, NM.

The Society for American Archaeology Awards recognize and honor knowledge and professional achievements at all career levels--from student and early career archaeologists to those who have made lasting contributions to the Society and the profession.

“SAA is one of the leading organizations in archaeology. The Society has a long tradition of acknowledging excellence in the field of archaeology through our awards, which pay tribute to those performing outstanding archaeological scholarship and research,” said SAA President Susan Chandler. “In addition to honoring highly trained and experienced archaeologists, SAA awards also identify up-and-coming leaders in the field.”

Each SAA award recipient is selected by a dedicated and knowledgeable award committee–one for each award–made up of SAA member volunteers. Presidential Recognition Awards are bestowed by the SAA president to honor exemplary service to the Society.


2019 Society for American Archaeology Awards

Gene S. Stuart Award: Gayle Keck
For her excellent article “Discovering the Archaeology of Tattooing” published by American Archaeology.

Paul Goldberg Award: Cayla Kennedy
For her project developing a model of Late Holocene alluvial cycles at Cub Creek, Dinosaur National Monument, Utah that will be widely applicable across the Uinta Basin's Fremont farming localities.

Dienje Kenyon Memorial Fellowship: Weronika Tomczyk
For her research project investigating animal management practices at Wari Empire sites in north-central Peru.

Fred Plog Memorial Fellowship: Megan Anne Conger
For her work investigating the nature and tempo of culture change of Indigenous and European worlds in Southern Ontario, Canada (ca. AD 1550-1650).

Douglas C. Kellogg Fellowship for Geoarchaeological Research: Jacob P. Warner
For his project developing the bivalve, Donax obesulus, as a proxy for El Niño Southern Oscillation dynamics in archaeological contexts in north-central coastal Peru.

Institute for Field Research Undergraduate Student Travel Awards: Rebecca Dolan, Saskia Ghosh, Arthur Wold

Charles Stanish SAA Annual Meeting Travel Award: Diana Carhuanina

Dissertation Award: Hao Zhao
For his original and comprehensive approach to the study of large-scale crafting in the bone-working industries at early political capitals in ancient China considered in the context of multiple socioeconomic contexts of urban provisioning.

Book Award—Scholarly: Krish Seetah
For Connecting Continents: Archaeology and History in the Indian Ocean World, his volume on a much neglected area in archaeology, the Indian Ocean World, which brings together an interdisciplinary team that explores larger issues of anthropological interest.

Book Award—Popular: Lynn Meskell
For A Future in Ruins: UNESCO, World Heritage, and the Dream of Peace, her definitive book on UNESCO and its involvement in archaeology and the impact of the World Heritage designation.

Award for Excellence in Archaeological Analysis: Jonathan Mark Kenoyer
For his detailed and rigorous empirical analyses of a broad range of archaeological materials, guided by an innovative interpretive framework grounded in experimental and ethnoarchaeological approaches.

Award for Excellence in Cultural Resource Management: Duane E. Peter
For his role in promoting the use of a variety of cutting-edge research techniques in CRM projects and his role in establishing and guiding the American Cultural Resources Association.

Award for Excellence in Curation, Collections Management, and Collections-based Research and Education: S. Terry Childs
For her distinguished work as a national expert in archaeological curation and collections management through numerous books, publications, and public presentations over twenty-five years.

Award for Excellence in Public Education: Magic Mountain Community Archaeology Project
For its innovative project model that includes exemplary involvement of local communities into an archaeological research project.

Crabtree Award: Peter Boyle and Janine Hernbrode
For their contribution to American Southwest archaeology, especially their collaborative research on rock art and public outreach.

Fryxell Award for Interdisciplinary Research: M. Steven Shackley
For his pioneering work in obsidian studies in the American Southwest.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Lynne G. Goldstein
For her pivotal theoretical and empirical contributions to our field, in the areas of mortuary archaeology, Midwestern prehistory, historical archaeology, archaeological ethics and repatriation, and public engagement, as well as professional and institutional leadership.


2019 Presidential Recognition Awards 

Deborah L. Nichols
For her exceptional service in multiple leadership roles for the Society, and in particular for her leadership in the development and implementation of the H. and T. King Grant for Precolumbian Archaeology.

John G. Douglass and Gordon F.M. Rakita
For their outstanding work as co-chairs of the Task Force on Revision of the SAA Principles of Archaeological Ethics: Stage One and their longstanding and ongoing dedicated service to SAA.

Jerry D. Spangler
For his excellent declaration regarding archaeological resources in Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument prepared in support of the amicus brief filed by SAA, AAA, and AIA.

Tim A. Kohler
For his efforts in helping SAA examine ways in which professional archaeologists can better share the value of our research with the contemporary world.

Daniel H. Sandweiss and Thomas H. McGovern
For their efforts in forming SAA’s Committee on Climate Change Strategies and Archaeological Resources, which is charged with helping the Society to effectively address the multiple challenges posed by climate change to the archaeological record.

Tobi Brimsek
For over 22 years of dedicated service as SAA Executive Director, where her skillful leadership, professionalism, and sensitivity to the needs of our members enhanced the Society’s financial stability and sustainability, expanded the Society’s standing, membership, and services nationally and internationally, and where her guidance made the Society a better organization.