SAA Election Results

Feb 05, 2019

SAA is pleased to announce the results of its recent election. We thank all the candidates for their dedication and willingness to serve the Society. Sincere thanks also go to the Nominating Committee for their work and to everyone who voted.

In accord with the bylaws, official notice is hereby given that the next Annual Meeting of the Society for American Archaeology (SAA) will be held April 10–14, 2019, in Albuquerque, NM. The newly elected officials will take office at the close of the Society’s Annual Business Meeting and Awards Presentation that will be held at the Albuquerque Convention Center beginning at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, April 12, 2019. Motions to be offered as new business at the Annual Business Meeting of the Society must be received in writing by the SAA Secretary at least seven days prior to the date of the Annual Business Meeting (i.e., April 5, 2019). If the Board determines that the issue is of such importance to the Society that it should be decided by the full voting membership of the Society, the Board may direct that the question be placed on the next SAA ballot with appropriate statements discussing the motion. This procedure does not preclude the discussion of new business at the Annual Business Meeting.  

Advance registration for the Annual Meeting will close on Tuesday, March 12, 2019.

2019 Election Results:

Stephen Nash has been selected as the SAA Treasurer-Elect. Dr. Nash received his PhD in 1997 from the University of Arizona and is the Director of Anthropology and Curator of Archaeology at the Denver Museum of Nature & Science. He will serve on the SAA’s Executive Committee this coming year while learning the job from the current Treasurer, Ricky Lightfoot. Steve will become the SAA Treasurer at the annual meeting in 2020 and will serve for two years thereafter.

Two persons were elected to the SAA Board of Directors: Silvia Salgado (PhD 1996, University of Albany–SUNY) and Cynthia Herhahn, RPA (PhD 2004, University of California–Santa Barbara). Their terms begin at the 2019 Annual Meeting and extend until the 2022 Annual Meeting. Dr. Salgado is a full professor at the Universidad de Costa Rica. Dr. Herhahn is the State Archaeologist/Deputy Preservation Officer for the Bureau of Land Management, New Mexico State Office.

Patricia Crown, RPA and T.J. Ferguson, RPA were selected for one-year terms on the 2020 Nominating Committee. Dr. Crown received her PhD in 1981 from the University of Arizona and is the Leslie Spier Distinguished Professor of Anthropology at the University of New Mexico. Dr. Ferguson received his PhD in 1993 from the University of New Mexico. He owns and operates Anthropological Research LLC, a research company in Tucson, Arizona, where he is also a Professor of Practice in the Department of Anthropology at the University of Arizona.

President-Elect Joe Watkins becomes SAA President following the Annual Business Meeting and Awards Ceremony at the Annual Meeting in Albuquerque, and Secretary-Elect Teresita Majewski will become Secretary. Both officers will serve until the 2021 Annual Meeting. Four SAA Board members will complete their terms of office at the 2019 Annual Meeting: EmilyMcClung de Tapia, Secretary; Patricia Garcia-Plotkin and Luis Jaime Castillo Butters, Directors; and Susan M. Chandler, President.