SAA Announces Election Results and Business Meeting Notice

Feb 15, 2022
The SAA is pleased to announce the results of the recent SAA election, with thanks to all the candidates for their dedication and willingness to serve the Society, to the Bylaws and Nominating Committees for their work, and to all who voted. Your participation ensures that the SAA will continue to thrive.
The revision to the Bylaws has passed.
In accord with our current bylaws, official notice is hereby given that the next Annual Business Meeting of the Society for American Archaeology (SAA) will be held April 1, 2022, in Chicago, Illinois. The newly elected officers and directors of the board and others begin their term at close of the Annual Business Meeting that will be held in the Grand Ballroom of the Hilton Chicago beginning at 4:00 p.m.

Advance registration for the annual meeting will close on March 1, 2022.

2022 Election Results:
Daniel H. Sandweiss has been elected President-Elect. Sandweiss earned his doctorate at Cornell University and is a professor of anthropology and quaternary and climate studies at the University of Maine, Orono. His research on maritime adaptations and climate change in Latin America focuses on the coast of Peru. Both the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the Geological Society of America elected him as a fellow. He is the current president of The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi and also chief cooperating curator of the University of Maine’s Hudson Museum. Sandweiss brings to the presidency extensive service with the SAA, including as a former director on the board, and he currently chairs the H. and T. King Grant for Precolumbian Archaeology Review Committee. This is but the most recent in a series of SAA committees and task forces that he has chaired including the Committee on the Americas, International Government Affairs, and the task force for editors of Latin American Antiquity.
Barbara J. Roth has been elected Secretary-Elect. Roth obtained her PhD from the University of Arizona and is currently a professor of anthropology at the University of Nevada Las Vegas. She approaches her research on the transition to agriculture in the US Southwest through household archaeology and a focus on gender. Roth has served the SAA in various ways including as the current chair of the Committee on the Status of Women in Archaeology.
Two persons were elected to the SAA Board of Directors: Anna Marie Prentiss (PhD Simon Fraser University) and Desireé Reneé Martinez (MA Harvard University). Prentiss is the Regents Professor of Anthropology at the University of Montana. Her work with the SAA includes serving two terms as editor of the SAA Archaeological Record. Martinez is the president of Cogstone Resource Management based in California. She currently chairs the Repatriation Interest Group. Prentiss and Martinez’s terms begin at the 2022 annual meeting and extend until the 2025 annual meeting. 
Albert D. González and B. Sunday Eiselt were selected for one-year terms on the 2023 Nominating Committee. González holds a PhD from Southern Methodist University. He is an associate professor of anthropology at California State University East Bay and conducts research in both archaeology and ethnohistory on the Borderlands working with Indigenous and Latinx descendant communities.
Eiselt, a former marine, earned a PhD at the University of Michigan. Eiselt is both a professor and an associate chair at Southern Methodist University and co-owner of Southwest Heritage Research LLC. Her research draws on descendant community and engaged archaeology in the US Southwest and issues of colonialism and ceramic studies.
Karen Brunso has been elected to a three-year term on the Findings Verification Committee. Brunso holds a BA from the University of Iowa and currently is the Tribal Historic Preservation Officer for the Chickasaw Nation and a tribal member. She is the current chair of the Committee on Native American Relations (CNAR) and represents CNAR on the Government Affairs Committee. Brunso and Lauren Sieg (chair, Committee on Repatriation) led the SAA’s revision of the “Statement Concerning the Treatment of Human Remains.”
Treasurer-elect Kim Redman becomes SAA treasurer following the Annual Business Meeting. Three SAA board members will complete their terms of office at the 2022 annual meeting: Stephen Nash, Treasurer; Jim Bruseth and Silvia Salgado, Directors.