Award Details


Student Poster Award (Deadline Extended to March 18)

Nomination/Submission Deadline: 18 Mar 2024

Award Description

This award acknowledges the best student presentation of archaeological research in poster sessions. Student posters will be evaluated as electronic submissions made directly to the Student Poster Award committee. 

Who Is Eligible to Submit Nominations or Apply for the Award

All student members of SAA in good standing whose poster abstract has been accepted by the SAA for the upcoming annual meeting are eligible to participate. All co-authors must be students, and the first author must be a member of the SAA. All co-authors receive the award. 

Nomination/Submission Materials Required

February 23, 2024.  Electronic version of the poster submission must be received by the Committee Chair no later than this date. 

Other Special Requirements

Please submit a PDF file of your poster with all names and affiliations covered or removed to preserve anonymity. In addition, in order to be considered for the award, your faculty advisor must send an email in support of your submission to the Committee Chair by the deadline.

Prior to any award recommendation being finalized and publically announced, anyone recommended for an award, scholarship, or grant will be required to certify the following:

(a)  I am not and have not ever been the subject of a discrimination or harassment lawsuit or related administrative complaint that resulted in an adverse finding; and

(b)  I do not have and have not had a current or pending disciplinary action such as suspension or termination of registration, resulting from a Register of Professional Archaeologists’ grievance investigation.

Nature of Award (e.g. monetary, medal, symposium)

The awardee(s) receive a $750 prize from Cambridge University Press. The awardee(s) are also recognized by the SAA through a plaque presented during the business meeting held at the Annual Meeting, a citation in The SAA Archaeological Record, and acknowledgment on the awards page of the SAA Website. All co-authors receive and share the award.

Thank you to Cambridge University Press for their generous gift to make the award possible. 


Current Committee Charge

The committee selects student recipients for the Poster Award. The award is presented to recognize excellence in the dissemination of archaeological knowledge through a poster presentation. The award is designed to promote interest and acceptance of the poster in the dissemination of archaeological research, to increase the quality of poster presentations, and to acknowledge recognize excellence in this valuable medium.

Committee Composition

Committee composition is one chair and at least four members.

Term Length

Term length is three years. Individuals ending their terms cycle off the committee at the close of the Business Meeting held during the annual SAA Meeting, and new appointees begin their terms at this time. 

Award Cycle


Committee Chair and End of Term

Colin P. Quinn [2024]

Committee Chair Contact Information

Committee Members and Ends of Terms

Selection or Evaluation Criteria

Committee members evaluate papers anonymously, scoring them on a scale of 1-20 based on the following two weighted themes: presentation of information (40%) and the originality and significance of research (60%). Posters that receive high scores for presentation of information will have excellent graphics with large fonts and images, nice backgrounds, and good readability from at least one meter, precise text, and logical flow to the information. Posters that receive high scores for originality and significance of research should have focused problems, innovative solutions, rigorous methodologies, and contributions to the theme of the session."

Committee Deliberation Process (e.g. dates, venue)

The committee meets electronically after the submission deadline has passed.

2023 Madeleine Gunter-Bassett “Pastoralist Land Use and Mobility in the Horn of Africa: An Archaeological Predictive Model”

2022 McKenzie Alford

2021  Laura Benedict

2020 N/A

2019 Nicolette Edwards

2018 Mark Agostini

2017 Elic M. Weitzel and Daniel Plekhov

2016 Amy N. Fox

2015 Jenna Kay Carlson

2014 N/A

2013 G. Logan Miller

2012 N/A

2011 Alexander Smith and Danielle Raad

2010 Metin I. Eren, Adam Durant, and Christina Neudorf

2009 Susan Mentzer

2008 Brandi Lee MacDonald, R.G.V. Hancock, Alice Pidruczny, and Aubrey Cannon

2007 Bridget Zavala and Jose Luis Punzo Diaz

2006 Ruth Dickau

2005 Ethan Cochrane, Julie Field, and Diana Greenlee

2004 Stacy Lengyel

2003 Stacey Chambliss

2002 Laura Smith, James Jordan, David Johnson, Casey Haskell, and Herbert Maschner

2001 Jonathan Scholnick, Derek Wheeler, and Fraser Neiman

2000 Diana M. Greenlee

1999 Diana Greenlee, Robert C. Dunnell, Terry Hunt, and Michael Pfeffer

1998 Lisa Nagaoka

1997 Anastasia Steffen, Rita Moots Skinner, and Ann F. Ramenofsky

1996 Adam King

1995 Tim Hunt, Mark Madsen, and Carl Lipo

1994 Alanah J. Woody

1993 Cynthia Herhahn

Awardees, Professionals

Until 2007, the Poster Award competition also included an award for the best poster presented by a professional. The awardees in this category are listed below.

2007 Jeffrey A. Ferguson, Jelmer E. Eerkens, and Michael D. Glascock

2006 Robert Hard, Cynthis Muñez, and Anne Katzenberg

2005 James Feathers, Jack Johnson, Silvia Kembel

2004 Andrew Isaac, Mark Muldoon, Keri Brown, and Terry Brown (Overall winner), Sara Bon-Harper, Jennifer Aultman, Nick Bon-Harper, Derek Wheeler

2003 Diana M. Greenlee

2002 Manuel R. Palacios Fest and Jeffrey A. Homburg

2001 Jeffrey Homburg, Eric Brevik, Jeffrey Altschul, Antony Orme, and Steven Shelley

2000 Fraser D. Neiman

1999 Neal H. Lopinot and Jack H. Ray

1998 Shannon P. McPherron and Harold L. Dibble

1997 Judith A. Habicht-Mauche, A. Russell Flegal, Stephen Glenn, and Homer Milford

1996 Clinton C. Hoffman and Stephen H. Lekson

1995 Brenda J. Baker and Maria A. Liston

1994 George R. Milner, James S. Oliver, and Erich Schroeder

Dennis E. Lewarch and Laura S. Phillips (Organizers, Outstanding Poster Symposium)

1993 Virginia Butler and James Chatters