Award Details


Award for Excellence in Cultural Resource Management

Nomination/Submission Deadline: 31 Dec 2023

Award Description

This award will be presented to an individual or a group to recognize lifetime contributions and special achievements in program administration/management, site preservation, or research in cultural resource management. Candidates may include individuals employed by federal, state, tribal, or local government agencies, , cultural resources management companies, museums, educational institutions, and similar institutions who have developed and or implemented public policy, regulations, and ordinances that further cultural resource site protection and historic preservation on a local or regional basis.

Who Is Eligible to Submit Nominations or Apply for the Award

Any professional archaeologist may submit a nomination for this award. Awardees may be members or nonmembers of the SAA. 

Nomination/Submission Materials Required

Nominators must submit a curriculum vita along with any relevant supporting documents. All nomination materials are to be submitted electronically, with the Award Nomination Form.

A detailed description of the nominee’s accomplishments with respect to furthering preservation. Preservation can include to specific projects, program development, public involvement, and/or policy development, among others.

Other Special Requirements

Prior to any award recommendation being finalized and publicly announced, anyone recommended for an award, scholarship, or grant will be required to certify the following:

(a)  I am not and have not ever been the subject of a discrimination or harassment lawsuit or related administrative complaint that resulted in an adverse finding; and

(b)  I do not have and have not had a current or pending disciplinary action such as suspension or termination of registration, resulting from a Register of Professional Archaeologists’ grievance investigation.

Nature of Award (e.g. monetary, medal, symposium)

The awardee is recognized by the SAA through a plaque presented during the business meeting held at the Annual Meeting, a citation in The SAA Archaeological Record, and acknowledgment on the awards page of the SAA Website.

Current Committee Charge

The Award for Excellence in Cultural Resource Management Committee solicits nominations and selects recipients for the Award for Excellence in Cultural Resource Management, which recognizes an individual, group or organization that has made significant contributions to archaeology or historic preservation in a cultural resource management setting. This might include, but is not limited to, significant contributions in preservation, research, publication, education, and/or administration.

Committee Composition

Committee composition is chair and at least four members.

Term Length

Term length is three years. Individuals ending their terms cycle off the committee at the close of the Business Meeting held during the annual SAA Meeting, and new appointees begin their terms at this time. 

Award Cycle


Committee Chair and End of Term

Kenneth Paul Cannon [2026]

Committee Chair Contact Information

Committee Members and Ends of Terms

Selection or Evaluation Criteria

Nominations will be evaluated based on lifetime contributions and special achievements, including contributions to the field of archaeology and cultural resource management.

Committee Deliberation Process (e.g. dates, venue)

The committee meets electronically after the nomination deadline has passed.

2023 Sarah Schlanger

2022 Michael Bremer

2021 N/A

2020  J. Stephen Athens

2019  Duane E. Peter

2018 Myles Miller

2017 Jeffery Franz Burton

2016 Tom Emerson

2015 N/A

2014 Mark Michel

2013 Henry Wallace

2012 N/A

2011 Nelly Robles García

2010 William H. Doelle

2009 Michael Beckes

2008 John Walthall

2007 George Smith

2006 N/A

2005 Arizona Site Steward Program

2004 Linda Mayro

2003 John Milner Associates, The General Services Administration

2002 Laurence W. Spanne

2001 N/A

2000 Robert J. Jackson

1999 David G. Anderson

1998 David A. Frederickson

1997 James J. Miller

1996 William R. Hildebrandt

1995 Lawrence E. Aten, Calvin R. Cummings, Shereen Lerner, Charles R. McGimsey III

1994 Hester A. Davis