Chairs Give Update on the SAA Task Force on Sexual and Anti-Harassment Policies and Procedures

The SAA Task Force is populated and its work has begun

May 08, 2019

Kelley Hays-Gilpin, chair, and Meagan Thies-Sauder, student co-chair, are pleased to announce that the SAA Task Force on Sexual and Anti-Harassment Policies and Procedures is populated. The chairs are grateful for the number of people who volunteered and appreciate everyone's urgency and enthusiasm. Selections were made considering our diverse membership and intersectionality.
The chairs point out that while they have an abundance of expertise on the Task Force, they will be consulting with advisers for particular kinds of expertise as the process unfolds over the next few weeks or even months. The Task Force will identify a few short term goals, specified in the charge to the Task Force and best fast-tracked by a relatively small group. They will also work on long-term sustainable change, which will require a great many members to participate. The Task Force envisions several phases of work that will ultimately extend well beyond the Task Force itself and into a standing committee and interest group.
In addition to the list of Task Force members, the chairs are working with existing SAA committees and interest groups to identify liaisons and to keep the lines of communication open. Especially important is their commitment to giving students a voice through the creation of a student action group headed by the student co-chair. This action group will be an integral part of the Task Force’s work, and will make recommendations throughout this process for creating effective change. Task Force members are:·        

  • Kelley Hays Gilpin, chair
  • Meagan Thies-Sauder, student co-chair
  • Kenneth Aitchison
  • Jon Driver
  • Margaret Hangan
  • Laura Heath-Stout  
  • Catherine Jalbert
  • Sarah Rowe
  • Kisha Supernant
  • Heather Thakar
  • Amber VanDerwarker

The Board wants to balance independence with sound coordination of efforts and resources, and has encouraged the Task Force to identify its constituents, while also providing support at every level. SAA President Joe Watkins will serve as the Task Force's Board Liaison. The Task Force will submit their preliminary recommendations (short-term goals) to the Board by September 2019.